How To Read Food Labels Fast & Effective

Reading Food Labels

How To Read For Healthy Food Labels Fast And Effective

Most of the People look at food labels for a variety of reasons. For whatever reason, many consumers would like to know how to use this information more effectively and efficiently. The following labels reading skills intended to make it easier for you to use the nutrition facts labels to make quick, informed food decisions to help you choose a healthy diet.

 

A vegan guide to reading food labels

It could be daunting at first to look at a food label and not know if it’s vegan.

When you decide to go vegan, it can be frustrating and confusing to figure out which foods are safe to eat, when they contain hidden animal ingredients. 

Often, before making a change to veganism, we have no idea what was in the food we ate, and now it can be a bit difficult to read through the labels with ingredients we didn’t know existed.

Don’t worry, here’s a handy guide to help you read the labels quickly and effectively and navigate the supermarket with ease. Since it is better to know what we put into our bodies than continue being ignorant, labeling at this stage is good, and it won’t be forever. Shortly, you will be fluent in this new language and just know why you pick up one brand over another without checking.

Who are vegans?

We all might be knowing that vegans are individuals who avoid animal products for ethical, health, or environmental reasons. Vegans eat various plants, whole grains, legumes, nuts seeds, and products made from these foods.

Vegan Woman

 

Where and how to read food labels?

Firstly, start by looking at a vegan label on food packaging. For example, stores like Sainsbury’s, Tesco’s, and Lidl are now using the vegan food label.

 Despite the amount of change in labeling over the last few years, some food companies are still playing and not yet labeling things vegan.  It does not necessarily mean that the product is terrible; you just have to be a bit smarter when looking.

Vegan Label

Check the ingredients list

Now you have to hunt for the ingredients list to see if it contains any other animal-derived products. Both milk and eggs are allergens, and legally food companies must make allergens very clear on the packaging. It means that dairy, eggs, and all of their by-products will often highlight in bold or capital letters the label or appear in a separate list. If the product is vegetarian animal derivatives, then it is more than likely vegan.

 

Importance of reading the label

 What else to keep in mind while reading labels?

Suppose a product states that it may contain an animal ingredient but does not list it. In that case, it is probably safe for you to eat because it was manufactured in the same facility as one of those products. It is something that the business has to do to protect themselves from litigation should someone have an allergic reaction to an ingredient that may have accidentally ended up in the product during the manufacturing process.

 

Contains Label

 

E.Numbers

 Many of these E-numbers, or codes for food additives, are okay for vegans. However, there are a few to look out for that are not cruelty- free.

Some common one’s to keep an eye out for includes

  • E120 – Carmine, Also known as cochineal, carminic acid, or natural red 4. Crushed up beetles used as a red food coloring.
  • E441 – Gelatine. A gelling agent made from the ground up animal bone and skins often found in confectionery.
  • E542 -to store food in the water, use animal bones.
  • E901 – Beeswax. As the name suggests, this is wax made by bees and used as a glazing agent.

Vegan substitutes and healthy diet for vegan

Considering going vegan include more vegan options to your repertoire and the transition, here are some available substitutes.

JACKFRUIT

Versatile and surprisingly cheap, jackfruit is an unprocessed ingredient that you’ll often find in cans. It is now soaring in popularity over the U.S. with pulled pork the most basic, go-to recipe for this substitute because it mimics the shredded texture so accurately. It makes an excellent replacement for chicken, perhaps in a stir-fry, but can also be prepared to resemble tuna.

Aquafaba

The water from the chickpeas is a superb substitute for egg white. It is to make meringues, mousses, and lots of bakes like macarons, sponges, and brownies.

SEITAN

Often called vital wheat gluten, seitan, made from wheat protein. If you crave fast food, you can fry it in chunks with seasoned batter for a fried chicken substitute. It’s a good alternative for ducks, beef, bacon, and sausage, and can be paired with cuisines.

MILK SUBSTITUTE

Popular non- dairy products include oat, hazelnut, cashew, soy almond, and hemp. It’s also easy to make your own by soaking raw nuts, fruits, blending with water and straining you can use soy milk in baking recipes as it can be sour with acids like apple cider vinegar, a great substitute for buttermilk.

Non Dairy Milk

 

ALTERNATIVE CHEESES

They are made using various ingredients, including coconuts, Aquafaba, nuts, and solidified vegetable oil. Several cheese substitutes are available from mozzarella style to cheddar and cream cheese. Recently, there are quite a few artisan vegan cheese brands around too.

ALTERNATIVE CREAMS AND YOGURTS

Like alternative milk, there is an array of plant-based yogurts that are perfect for adding to fruits cereal, etc. The other alternative dairy-free products are fortified with vitamins but also filled with probiotic bacteria, which means vegans can get some of the same health benefits as ordinary, dairy yogurt.

CHEAT OR MECK MEATS

In the planned meals such as chicken nuggets, burgers, fish fingers, sausages, and hot dogs, you can try rich vegan ragu; it’s an excellent substitute for beef. And for meat, chicken, etc., there is an excellent substitute called a bleeding-style plant-based burger.

SPREADS AND FATS

There are plenty of difficult dairy-free butter brands out there.  You can use flora or pure for baking cakes and biscuits. For spreading on toast, you can find a small danish brand called nature, which as a lovely butter-like salty taste.

WHOLE EGG SUBSTITUTE

 Chia seeds are a good substitute for an egg white. You can also use chickpea water (Aquafaba) as an egg white substitute.

Chia Seed Egg

 

Animal Ingredients To Watch Out For

It’s essential to look at the food label and check for the animal ingredient that can add to food that you may not think to look out for. 

  • Casein – is a milk protein,
  • Lactose – is milk sugar,
  • Whey – is milk by-product,
  • Collagen – is from the skin bones and connective tissues of animals such as cows, chickens, pig, and fish.
  • Elastin – is found in the neck ligaments and aorta of bones, similar to collagen.
  • Keratin – is obtained from the skin, bones, and connective tissues of animals such as cows, chickens, pigs, and fish.
  • Relative Gelatin -is obtained by boiling skin tendons, ligaments, and bones and is usually from cows or pigs.
  • Aspic – industry alternative to gelatine, made from clarified meat, fish or vegetable stocks, and gelatine.
  • Lard/tallow – animal fat.
  • Albumen/albumin – from egg.

While they may seem like a long list, there are plenty of foods without any of the above ingredients, and, once for, it becomes easy to spot on non-vegan menus.

Pigs

 

Conclusion

All packed food comes with a nutrition label meant to provide you with the information necessary to know what exactly you’re eating. So, understanding what’s in the food you eat helps you make healthier choices. Checking food labels also makes it easier for you to compare the nutrient content. A healthy diet is essential throughout your lifetime, and paying attention to the nutrition labels is a good step towards a healthy lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.