Skip to content

7 Shocking Ingredients That Are Not Vegan


When following the vegan diet, you must be aware of these ingredients in the food, which are not easy to quit. These days, people are often eating less meat than they used to. However, many still consider themselves vegetarians or vegans, so they assume that the products they buy are also vegan.

This is not perpetually true, however, as many companies are using animal products in their products. This fact is surprising, especially considering that many of the products that are not vegan are household items like makeup and even mouthwash. Concerns about ingredients are often on the rise, and for a good reason. Recent research has shown that some of these ingredients may even cause cancer. To avoid these harmful ingredients, many people are choosing vegan products, which contain no animal products.

For the most part, it’s pretty easy to tell whether it is vegan food or not. If it doesn’t contain animal products, like meat or eggs, it’s safe to assume that it’s vegan. But there are still plenty of surprises out there. Even though many people think that their favorite products are vegan, it turns out that a surprising amount of them actually contain animal byproducts. The ingredients in question could be eggs, dairy, or honey.

Beeswax And Honey: 

Surprisingly to many, honey and beeswax are not vegan ingredients. Beeswax is a waxy substance made by honey bees. Products that contain beeswax are not vegan, as they contain an ingredient that originates from an animal. Honey is also a product found in various cosmetics, moisturizers and used as a sweetener in different products. Honey is popular to use in tea. Both beeswax and honey are often hidden ingredients in products that do not seem to be animal-derived.

Casein Or Milk Byproducts

Casein and whey are two proteins in milk. Casein is in the curds, or solid part of milk, while whey is in the liquid part of milk. These two proteins are ingredients in many products you use every day, including bread, candy, and even cosmetics. Both casein and whey come from milk, which means you will want to avoid products containing these proteins if you are a vegan.

Confectioner’s Glaze On Candy

Confectioner’s glaze is a common ingredient used in candy manufacturing and sold in the US. Confectioner’s glaze is a food-grade resin that is a mixture of shellac and other ingredients.  Shellac is a resin from a lac bug’s secretions, a small insect that lives on trees. Shellac is applied in the food industry as a glaze or coating on some candy and other processed food products to provide a smooth and glossy appearance. While shellac is safe to eat, it isn’t suitable for vegetarians or vegans since it comes from insects.

Gelatin And Gelatin Products

Gelatin is from collagen’s breakdown, an important structural protein in animals, humans, and all vertebrae. Although it is often associated with bone broth, gelatin is also in hides, cartilage, and connective tissue.  Gelatin was originally from animal bones and sinew, but today it is most commonly made from the collagen inside pigs and cows.  Products that contain gelatin are not vegan since they contain animal protein.  Gelatin, a flavorless and odorless substance, is used in various foods, beverages, and cosmetic products.

Isinglass In Beer And Wine 

Isinglass is the name of a natural product made from the swim fish bladders. Isinglass has been in beer and winemaking for centuries.  Isinglass’s popularity spread throughout the world, and it has been used in many regions to remove yeast and other particles in beer and wine.  Today, many alcohol products now contain isinglass, and the ingredient is often not called out on product labels.  If you are vegan or vegan-friendly, you may be surprised to find isinglass in many of your favorite alcoholic beverages.

Cysteine In Bread Products

L-cysteine is an amino acid used in the food industry (and other industries) to enhance the texture and taste of bread products. This ingredient is from feathers or hog hair. If you are a vegan, you may consider L-cysteine an issue because it is often used to produce bread products.  Some companies that make bread products use L-cysteine in their products.  If you are a vegan, you will require to check the ingredients list before purchasing and consuming any of these bread products.

Whey In Bread And Sweets 

Whey is a form of milk and is in many different recipes, from bread to sweets.  However, one of the main components of whey is lactose, a form of milk sugar.  According to many vegans, the main problem with whey is it is from dairy cows, which many vegans are against.  The main concern with whey is that it is not 100% vegan, which many consumers are looking for when purchasing food.


Now that you know the items hiding in your food that are not vegan, will you continue to consume them? All of the items above are products in common packaged goods but are easy to avoid consuming in your daily diet. Ensure to look for the certified vegan stamp on products that you buy and take a glance at the ingredients list to double-check your products are vegan. Hopefully, you will have brands that you love and will trust their vegan stamp in no time.